‘Emotional pain…’

Emotional pain is a very hard game that I still don’t know how to play.
Time has moved on, yet the game’s never won.

My tactic was always to turn the emotional into the physical and make it tangible.
So, I would food restrict until the hunger hurt
Or, pull the skin off my foot so I couldn’t walk.
My head learnt to separate.

Many years on, my childhood is gone –
I no longer have to endure the deliberate emotional kick to the floor.
But with happiness comes sadness, with love comes loss,
Then what do I do?

My dog died recently and the emotional pain raised its head again.
For two or three days, it hurt to walk.
Old habits die hard.

Written by ‘Survivor-Uncensored’

Leave a Reply

